

300 N. WASHINGTON SQ. LANSING, MI 48913

CUSTOMER
CONTACT CENTER
517 373 9808

WWW.MICHIGAN.ORG

Personal Property Tax Relief in Distressed Communities (PA 328 of 1998)

Public Act 328 of 1998 allows distressed communities and all county seats to abate all new personal property taxes in certain geographic areas to spur economic development.

ELIGIBILITY

Cities, villages, and townships that contain distressed areas (as defined under the Michigan State Housing Development Authority Act), and all county seats (as defined under the Neighborhood Enterprise Zone Act) are eligible to participate. This criterion applies to the cities, villages, townships, and county seats listed on the back of this fact sheet.

Abatements include all millage, state and local. Locally approved applications are filed with the State Tax Commission (STC), which must approve or disapprove the local resolution within 60 days. The State Treasurer, with the written consent of the Michigan Economic Development Corporation, is required to provide advice to the STC as to whether the exemption is necessary to "reduce unemployment, promote economic growth, and increase capital investment."

Eligible projects include manufacturing, mining, research and development, wholesale trade, and office operations. Retail businesses and casinos are not eligible.

New personal property is property not previously subject to property taxes in any other jurisdiction in this state. This includes personal property already in Michigan, but exempt for another reason (owned by a local unit of government). Personal property is property that wasn't previously subject to tax under the Property Tax Act. If there is any question as to whether the property is considered new, please contact the Department of Treasury at 517.373.3272.

TERMS OF ABATEMENT

The eligible local units may, by resolution, exempt new personal property in any of the following areas: an industrial development district (P.A. 198), a renaissance zone, an enterprise zone, a brownfield redevelopment zone, an empowerment zone, a tax increment financing district, a local development financing district, or a downtown development district.

The local community and the business negotiate the length of abatement for the new personal property tax, via adoption of a local resolution. The law does not contain a maximum or minimum number of years.

For more information, contact the Michigan Economic Development Corporation Customer Assistance at 517.373.9808.

(MORE)

ELIGIBLE DISTRESSED COMMUNITIES AND COUNTY SEATS As of May 25, 2007

This revised list of Eligible Distressed Areas and County Seats reflects a group of communities that qualify based on Neighborhood Enterprise Zone designation, pursuant to changes to PA 147 of 1992.

CITIES

Adrian Albion Allegan Alma Alpena Ann Arbor **Bad Axe** Bangor **Battle Creek Bay City** Benton Harbor Bessemer Big Rapids Bronson Burton Cadillac Carson City Caspian Center Line Charlevoix Charlotte Cheboygan Coldwater Coleman Corunna Crystal Falls Dearborn Dearborn Heights Detroit Dowagiac East Lansing Manistee Eastpointe Manistique **Ecorse** Marquette Escanaba Marshall Ferndale Mason Flint Melvindale Menominee Gaastra Gaylord Midland

Grayling Hamtramck Harbor Beach Harper Woods Harrison Harrisville Hart Hartford Hastings Hazel Park Highland Park Hillsdale Holland Houghton Howell Inkster Ionia Ironwood Iron Mountain Iron River Ishpeming Ithaca Jackson Kalamazoo Lake City Lansing Lapeer Lincoln Park Livonia Ludington

Munising Muskegon Muskegon Heights Norton Shores Norway Oak Park Omer Onaway Owosso Petoskey Pinconning Pontiac Portage Port Huron Reed City River Rouge Rogers City Saginaw Sandusky Sault Ste. Marie Southfield St. Ignace St. Johns St. Joseph St. Louis Standish Stanton Sturgis Tawas City Taylor Three Rivers Traverse City Trenton Vassar Wakefield Warren Wayne West Branch White Cloud Wyandotte Wyoming

Ypsilanti

TOWNSHIPS

Benton (Berrien) Buena Vista (Saginaw) Calumet (Houghton) Carp Lake (Ontonagon) Carrollton (Saginaw) Champion (Marquette) Columbia (Tuscola) Duncan (Houghton) Elba (Gratiot) Elmwood (Tuscola) Emerson (Gratiot) Genesee (Genesee) Marlette (Sanilac) Minden (Sanilac) Montrose (Genesee) Mt. Morris (Genesee) Oscoda (losco) Oliver (Huron) Pulawski (Presque Isle) Redford (Wavne) Royal Oak (Oakland) Sebewaing (Huron) Sheridan (Calhoun) Spaulding (Saginaw) Turner (Arenac) Wisner (Tuscola)

VILLAGES

Atlanta Baldwin Bellaire Beulah Caro Cassopolis Centreville Eagle River Kalkaska L'Anse Leland Mio Newberry Ontonagon Paw Paw Roscommon

Monroe

Mt. Clemens

Mt. Pleasant

Mt. Morris

Gibraltar

Gladwin

Gladstone

Grand Haven

Grand Rapids